Hygienic Study Award 2021 - Award winners honoured

By: EHEDG on 14 December 2021

During the EHEDG Online Congress 2021, the winners of the Hygienic Study Award 2021 were honoured. The winners were:

  • 1st prize: Dr Hannes Köhler, TU Dresden, for his dissertation on "Method for the analysis, modelling and optimisation of cleaning processes with an impinging coherent liquid jet".
  • 2nd prize: Georgina Cuckston, University of Cambridge, for her dissertation on "Methods for detailed study of detergent action in cleaning food soils".
  • 3rd prize: Felix Schottroff, University of Vienna (BOKU) for his dissertation on "Processes employing a direct application of electric fields (so-called electrotechnologies), such as pulsed electric fields (PEF) or ohmic heating, are used in food and bioprocessing for the inactivation of microorganisms".


Abstracts of the award-winning research papers are available for download on the VDMA website: https://www.vdma.org/viewer/-/v2article/render/38678310

Since 2009, the international Hygienic Study Award has been honouring innovative, high-quality diploma, bachelor, master and PhD theses and studies in the following research areas: 

  • Hygienic design of machinery and equipment
  • Optimisation of materials and material surfaces under hygienic aspects
  • Optimisation of the cleaning of food-relevant materials (including research into the fundamentals of soiling and cleaning processes)


The sponsors of the Hygienic Study Award are Fraunhofer IVV Dresden, VDMA Food Processing and Packaging Machinery, and EHEDG.


Dr. Peter Golz, VDMA Nahrungsmittelmaschinen und Verpackungsmaschinen

Dr. Marc Mauermann, Fraunhofer IVV Dresden

Adwy van den Berg, EHEDG


Call for entries Hygienic Study Award 2023: