Environmental Health Department Contacts

By Food Focus on 23 May 2018

-- CONTACT DETAILS UPDATED NOVEMBER 2021 --

Need to contact an Environmental Health Practitioner at your municipality in connection with a Certificate of Acceptability? We want to help.

Details were correct at the time of going to press but may change with time. If you have additional contact numbers, please let us know so that we can update the information. We are continually adding and revising this information to keep it as relevant and useful as possible.

 

The Constitution provides for three categories of municipality. There are 278 municipalities in South Africa, comprising eight metropolitan, 44 districts and 226 local municipalities. The eight metropolitan municipalities are:

  • City of Cape Town
  • City of eThekwini (Durban)
  • Nelson Mandela Metropolitan Municipality (Port Elizabeth)
  • Mangaung Municipality (Bloemfontein)
  • Buffalo City (East London)
  • City of Johannesburg
  • City of Tshwane (Pretoria).
  • Ekurhuleni Metropolitan Municipality (East Rand)

-- City of Cape Town Metropolitan Municipality --


Website:
  http://www.capetown.gov.za/

Offices located at: Petunia Rd, Silvertown, Cape Town, 7769

COA Application process:  The application process consists of a physical form that is sent to the person wishing to apply for the COA. The form is then filled in and then sent back. See more here

Regulations for Food Businesses: 
https://www.capetown.gov.za/work%20and%20business/commercial-health-and-safety/environmental-health/regulations-for-food-businesses 

Rules for Informal Traders
https://resource.capetown.gov.za/documentcentre/Documents/Procedures%2c%20guidelines%20and%20regulations/Rules%20for%20Informal%20Traders%20Pamphlet.pdf 

Contact person and number:  A S Eza  |  021 444 6642



-- City of eThekwini (Durban) Metropolitan Municipality --


Website:
  http://www.durban.gov.za/

Durban Fresh Produce market: http://www.durban.gov.za/pages/business/markets-unit 

COA Application process:  
http://live.durban.gov.za/storage/Documents/Health%20Services%20Forms/R638%20COA%20Application%20Form.pdf 

Offices located at: 9 Archie Gumede Place, Durban, 4000

Environmental Health enquiries/ complaints hotline: 031 311 3555 / 031 361 0000 or envirohealthadmin.envirohealthadmin@durban.gov.za

Contact numbers:  031 311 3555 / 031 311 3690

-- Nelson Mandela Bay Metropolitan Municipality --


Website:
  www.nelsonmandelabay.gov.za

Offices located at:  City Hall, Vuyisile Mini Square, Govan Mbeki Avenue, Nelson Mandela Bay

Postal address: PO BOX 116, Port Elizabeth, 6000

COA Application process:  The form application is online by downloaded, filled in and submitted at the closest municipal office:
https://www.nmbt.co.za/uploads/1/files/doc_certificate_of_acceptability_for_food_on_premises.pdf

Contact person: Executive Director: Public Health, 14th Floor, Brister House, Govan Mbeki Avenue, 6001

Contact number:   041 506 1911  | 041 506 5412/3  | Fax:  041 506 2422  

 

-- Mangaung Metropolitan Municipality --


Website: http://www.mangaung.co.za/ 

Offices located at: Municipal Building, Bloemfontein, 9301

Postal address: PO Box 3704, Bloemfontein, 9300

Contact person:   Mr. Billy Barnes – Manager: Health Services

Contact number:  Tel: +27 51 400 5329

Email: billy.barnes@mangaung.co.za

-- Buffalo City Metropolitan Municipality --


Website:  https://www.buffalocity.gov.za

Offices located at:  117 Oxford Street, Cnr North & Oxford Streets, Trust Centre, East London

Postal: P.O. Box 134, East London, 5200

COA Application process:  The COA application form is online and need to be downloaded, filled, and submitted in person to the municipality office.

Here is a link to download the COA:
https://www.yumpu.com/en/document/view/48132296/download-form-here-buffalo-city

Contact person:   Andile Falati, Programmer Manager (Municipality Health Service)   

Contact information:  043 050 5683 (East London)  |  043 705 2000  |  Fax: 043 743 1688  |  Email address: andileF@buffalocity.gov.za

 

-- City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality  -


Website: 
https://www.tshwane.gov.za/Pages/default.aspx

Offices located at: Tshwane house, 320 Madiba Street, Pretoria

COA Application process:  
https://www.tshwane.gov.za/sites/Departments/CME/Events/pages/events%20joc%20documents.aspx  
The COA is applied in person. This can be done at the metropolitan municipalities if one is close by, but if not, individuals can visit their district municipalities which will then be in contact with the metropolitan municipality.

Contact person:    Koena J Nkoko / Environmental health services:  ehonestop@tshwane.gov.za

Contact information:  012 358 4585 / 012 358 4656 or 012 358 2111 (after hours)

 

-- City of Ekurhuleni --


Website:  https://www.ekurhuleni.gov.za/

Offices located at: Ekurhuleni Head Office, Cnr Roses and Cross streets, Germiston

COA Application process:  The COA is applied in person. This can be done at the metropolitan municipalities if one is close by, but if not, individuals can visit their district municipalities which will then be in contact with the metropolitan municipality.

Contact person and number:  Estelle Nienaber  |  011 999 6458  |  Estelle.Nienaber@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Additional information:

NAME

EMAIL

DESIGNATION

REGION/AREA

Jerry Chaka
0119992969

Jerry.Chaka@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Divisional Head

Corporate

Sibusiso Madlala
0119992968

Sibusiso.Madlala@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Executive Manager

Corporate

Nomvula Sirenqe
0119992970

Nomvula.Sirenqe@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Secretary

Corporate

Johan Kamffer
0119990530

Johan.Kamffer@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Regional Manager

South

Phillip Campher
0119995244

Phillip.Campher@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Boksburg
Vosloorus

Imanuel Joemath
0119992348

Imanuel.Joemath@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Kathlehong 1&2 Thokoza

Francois van der Merwe
0119990347

Francois.vanderMerwe@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Germiston
Alberton

Duduzile Sebidi
0119996431

Duduzile.Sebidi@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Regional Manager

East

Johan Koekemoer
0119998752

Johan.Koekemoer@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Springs
KwaThema

Vacant

 

Manager

Nigel
Tsakane

Vacant

 

Regional Manager

North

Vacant

 

Manager

Tembisa
Midstream Olifantsfontein
Clayville

Marie van den Berg
0119994670

Marie.vanderBerg@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Kempton Park Bapsfontein
Atlasville
Impala Park

Betty Damari
0119993335

Betty.Damari@ekurhuleni.gov.za

Manager

Benoni
Edenvale

 


-- City of Johannesburg --


Website:  https://joburg.org.za/

Offices located at: Environmental Health Building, Cnr Avon Street & Main Reef Road, Longdale (Opposite the Langlaagte SAPS), Gauteng

COA Application process:  The COA is applied in person. This can be done at the metropolitan municipalities if one is close by, but if not, individuals can visit their district municipalities which will then be in contact with the metropolitan municipality.

Contact person and number:  Peter Manganye  |  Office:  011 339 1443  |  Fax:  011 339 1443  | Mobile:  082 464 8350  |  manganyep@joburg.org.za 

Additional information:

ENV. HEALTH: DIRECTORATE

CONTACT DETAILS

Deputy Dir: EH

(T) 407 6796 

Corrie Bezuidenhout

Deputy Dir: EH

(T) 407 6798 | (C) 082 464 5372

corrieb@joburg.org.za

Futhi Maseko

Deputy Dir: EH

(T) 011 407 7143 | Cel 082 467 9380

futhis@joburg.org.za 

Norman Andrews

Operational Manager:
Veterinary Public Health: EH 

(T) 011 407 6480 | (C) 082 559 3795

normana@joburg.org.za 

Charlotte Mashamba

Admin Officer: E.H 

(T) 011 407 6545

Charlottemash@joburg.org.za 

Nireshnee Govender

Executive Secretary: EH 

(T) 011 407 6494

nireshneeg@joburg.org.za

Jabulile Mashinini

Admin Assistant :EH

(T) 011 407 6545

jabulilemas@joburg.org.za



 

   A

 Jacques Scholtz

Manager: Environmental Health

 (T) 237 8002

(C) 082 467 9292

(F) 314 1716

jacquessc@joburg.org.za 

Alphen Square North,
Unit 7
Cnr George & 16th Avenue,
Randjes Park, Midrand 

Private Bag X 20
Halfway House
1685 

 Nelly Shongwe

Regional Manager: Health

Ashika Bunseelall (Sec)  

 (T) 237 8010 /8054

Cel 082 467 9276

(F) 314 1716

NellyS@joburg.org.za   

   B

ZanoZuko Mbane

Manager: Environmental Health

 (T) 226 8309

Cel 072 064 8858

(F) 474 6707

zanozukom@joburg.org.za

Environmental Health Offices
Cnr. Main Reef Road & Avon Street
Langlaagte

Private Bag X 7
Auckland Park
2006

Ms Paulinah Maepa

Regional Manager: Health

Jefrey Mazibuko (Sec)

 (T) 718 9656/57

Cel 082 551 5804

(F) 718 9760

paulinahm@joburg.org.za

AshikaB@joburg.org.za 

   C

Rika van Heerden

Manager: Environmental Health

 (T) 761 0217

Cel 082 467 9521

(F) 472 0016/ 761 0205

rikav@joburg.org.za

Civic Centre, 2nd Floor
No 100 Christiaan de Wet Road,
Florida Park
Roodepoort 

Private Bag X 30
Roodepoort
1725 

Mr Tebogo Motsepe

Regional Manager: Health

Jesias Serongwane (PA)

 (T) 761 0248/0257

Cel 082 655 5420

(F) 672 7970

tebogomot@joburg.org.za

jesiass@joburg.org.za

   D 

Nontsikelelo Letsosa

Manager: Environmental Health    

 (T) 986 0106

Cel 083 701 8502

(F) 011 381 9981

nontsikelelol@joburg.org.za

Jabulani Civic Centre
No 1 Koma Road, Jabulani 

Private Bag X 10
P.O. Kwa Xuma
1868  

Mabel Ngcobo

Regional Manager: Health

Sibongile Maloka (Sec)

 (T) 986 0271/ 0164

Cel 082 467 9316

(F) 986 1065

mabeln@joburg.org.za

sibongilemalo@joburg.org.za

Edward Molepo

Manager: Environmental Health

 (T) 986 0107/0069

Cel 082 467 9313

(F) 011 381 9200

edwardm@joburg.org.za 

   E 

Skrik Viljoen

Manager: Environmental Health   

 (T) 011 582 1659

Cel 082 823 5008

(F) 011 582 1659

skrikv@joburg.org.za

137 Daisy Street
Sandown,
Sandton

Vusi Mazibuko

Regional Manager: Health

Thabiso Maesela (Sec) 

 (T) 582 1655/1504

Cel 082 464 9547

(F) 582 1656/7

vusim@joburg.org.za

Thabisomae@joburg.org.za

Jokkie Viljoen

Manager: Environmental Health

 (T) 011 582 1531

Cel 082 559 3792

(F)  582 1656/7

Joach@joburg.org.za 

137 Daisy Street
Sandown,
Sandton

  F 

Lizette van Zyl

Manager: Environmental Health    

 (T) 376 8522

Cel 082 464 5372

(F) 376 8597

lizettev@joburg.org.za

CJ Cronje Building,
6th Floor
80 Loveday Street,
Cnr Bree,
Johannesburg

P.O. Box 1477
Johannesburg
2000 

 Oupa Montsioa

Regional Manager: Health

Yasmin Khan

 (T) 681 8090/130

Cel 082 467 9423

(F) 681 8205

oupamont@joburg.org.za

YasminK@joburg.org.za

Lizette van Zyl

Manager: Environmental Health 

 (T) 681 8082/8060

Cel 082 467 9434

(F) 681 8211

lizettev@joburg.org.za

92 Eureka House
Cnr Malborough & Rosettenville Road
Springfield,
2190 

P.O Box 1514
Rosettenville
2130 

   G

 Fatima Cordom 

Manager: Environmental Health 

 (T) 211 8924/32

Cel 082 371 8636

(F) 211 8934

fatimac@joburg.org.za

Ennerdale Civic
Centre,
2nd Floor
Cnr Katz & Smith Street.
Ennerdale Ext 9 

P.O Box 992200
Odine Park
1825 

 Hlubi Ntamehlo

Regional Manager: Health

Mantombi Dlamini (Sec)

 (T) 211 8820/8936

Cel 083 286 0388

(F) 857 1188

Hlubin@joburg.co.za

mantombid@joburg.org.za

 

 

EHP Contacts - Sandton Region

Environmental Health enquiries
Contact: 011 582 1514

 

EHP Contacts - Centurion Region

Environmental Health enquiries  
Contact: 012 358 4656


EHP Contacts - Midrand Region

Environmental Health enquiries 
Contact: 011 761 0206


Related Articles

Starting a food business in South Africa-Part 1

By Linda Jackson on 15 March 2018
You have a great recipe for rusks, you want to sell at the local flea market or perhaps you would like to become a home chef? Whatever your food busin...

Read more

Starting a food business in South Africa - Part 2

By Linda Jackson on 15 March 2018
You have a great recipe for rusks, you want to sell at the local flea market or perhaps you would like to become a home chef? Whatever your food busin...

Read more

How do I get a Certificate of Acceptability - COA?

By Linda Jackson on 30 October 2017
So, you want to start a food business? A business licence is generally required for businesses that need to comply with health and safety regulations....

Read more