Opinions

Your search returned (19) results.

A Tell All Webinar - Sugar 2021 by SAAFFI

By Guest Author on 08 March 2021

SAAFFI recently hosted one of their successful precise short training courses aimed at educating delegates on the latest trends about the sugar industry and its contributions to South African communities.

Read more

5 things that happened this month and why they should matter to you | January 2021

By Linda Jackson on 01 February 2021

In this new newsletter feature, we will be looking at some important things that have happened in the month and what this means to us as the food industry.

Read more

Why do we test

By Pinky and the Brain on 25 June 2020

Hello to all of you in the food industry, from the secret offices of Pinky and the Brain! We are frustrated! No, it is not about the lockdown or restrictions… We are so ready to explode that we are actually looking for options to expose wha

Read more

Where is client service

By Pinky and the Brain on 14 April 2020

Hello to all of you in the food industry, from the secret office of Pinky and the Brain! 2020 is the year that Pinky and the Brain put small talk aside and actually start voicing the need in our industry! 2020 is BIG and we think it must st

Read more

First polony, now pilchards

By Linda Jackson on 10 March 2020

Almost two years to the day, sees the South African food industry back in the grips of a massive food recall. Feels a bit like de ja vu doesn’t it?

Read more

Time to stop luxuriating Food Safety Management Systems?

By Guest Author on 18 October 2019

Has food safety has become a luxury value-added service that the food industry offers to those who can afford to pay the price tag? Is it our duty as professionals in this field to bring it back to basics and provide food safety for all- no

Read more

Food Day 2019 - Let's do what we can

By Bridget Day on 16 October 2019

Today is World Food Day 2019, and the internet is abuzz with a thousand different messages, and a hundred different hashtags.

Read more

OPINION PIECE: THE NEW MEAT REGULATIONS

By Food Focus on 15 October 2019

Francois Mellet Director of Functional Foods shares his opinion of the impact of new meat regulations

Read more

Why use Independent Laboratories?

By Pinky and the Brain on 07 October 2019

Hello to all of you in the food industry, from the secret office of Pinky and the Brain! Today we are wondering why there is still doubt about using independent laboratories in the food industry….

Read more

How do you KNOW the product you are buying is really good quality?

By Pinky and the Brain on 15 July 2019

Hello to all of you in the food industry, from the secret office of Pinky and the Brain! Today we are discussing the important question... How do you KNOW the product you are buying is really good quality?

Read more

The chilling insight about the knowledge of Food Quality Assurance Managers

By Pinky and the Brain on 18 June 2019

With all food industries still well aware of the BIG L word, the two of us just could not keep it in any longer… There are other aspects in the food industry that should be worried about, not just Listeria outbreaks! Like ....

Read more

Ethics and food safety b

By Linda Jackson on 12 November 2018

What does ethical behaviour look like in the context of food safety? We would like to hear your views

Read more

Our last words for 2017

By Linda Jackson on 22 December 2017

At the end of a year we should always look back before we look forward. 2017 has been a tough year by all accounts. On top of political uncertainty and a tough economic climate, at least three events have shaken the food industry this year.

Read more

People, planet, plate

By Linda Jackson on 15 August 2017

Today’s restaurant owners have much more on their plates than preparing and serving tasty food. Social responsibility to do the right thing for employees, the community and the natural environment is an important aspect of your business.

Read more

What are you doing with your 67 minutes?

By Bridget Day on 14 July 2017

On the 18th July we celebrate Nelson Mandela Day – which is one of the most wonderful days of to year to be a South African. It is a time when we all unite together with one cause, and celebrate the legacy of Tata Madiba with actions not j

Read more

Why making pancakes is the socially responsible thing to do

By Bridget Day on 28 February 2017

You didn't forget that it's Pancake Day did you? But have you ever wondered why we celebrate Pancake Day at all? It's fascinating, and there are some lessons to be learned! On top of that, we've tossed in a pancake recipe to make it all t

Read more

One hen’s coop is another hen’s graveyard

By Linda Jackson on 26 January 2017

An interesting week for our feathered friends – across the world several interesting articles were published on the suitability of their living accommodations. These articles show the intersection of management system requirements and the n

Read more

Quality is not the custard on the pudding

By Linda Jackson on 15 December 2016

Quality is not just the custard on the pudding... it IS the pudding! Here are some thoughts around your customer's quality requirements

Read more

Are you an impact business?

By Linda Jackson on 15 December 2016

We have to say we were utterly intrigued when Lady Bonin tea signed up on our website recently. We're so excited by each new subscriber and make a point of checking out the company and what they do! This is where we came across the term “im

Read more